British academy

Burkitt Medal (Biblical Studies)

 Professor Francis Crawford Burkitt (1864–1935), elected a Fellow of the Academy in 1905, decided in 1923 to strike a number of bronze medals for presentation by the Academy to scholars in recognition of special service to Biblical Studies. After his death in 1935 the awards became known as Burkitt Medals. The Medal is awarded alternately in Hebrew Bible studies (in odd years) and in New Testament studies (in even years).

Nominating body: Section H2

Nominations for 2014 are now closed.


2014  Professor N. Thomas Wright, University of St Andrews

2013  Professor Ronald Ernest Clements DD, King's College London

2012  Professor Christopher Tuckett, University of Oxford

2011  Professor Andrew Mayes, formerly Erasmus Smith Professor of Hebrew, Trinity College, Dublin

2010  Professor Ulrich Luz, Emeritus Professor of New Testament Studies, University of Bern

2009  Revd Professor Ernest Nicholson FBA, formerly Provost of Oriel College, Oxford

2008  Professor Richard Bauckham, FBA, FRSE, Professor of New Testament Studies and Bishop Wardlaw Professor, University of St Andrews

2007  Professor Jan Alberto Soggin

2006  Professor Graham Stanton

2005  Revd Professor Pierre-Maurice Bogaert, OSB

2004  Professor Morna D Hooker

2003  Professor Bertil Albrektson

2002  Professor Gerd Theissen

2001  Professor Rudolf Smend, FBA

2000  Professor Hans-Dieter Betz