Skip Content

The British Academy Medal

The British Academy Medals are awarded annually and recognise outstanding achievement in any branch of the humanities and social sciences, as demonstrated in a landmark academic achievement in any of the disciplines supported by the Academy, which has transformed understanding of a particular subject or field of study. Up to 3 medals may be awarded each year, depending on the case assembled. The Medals were first awarded in 2013.


The achievement for which candidates may be nominated is likely to be a publication of particularly outstanding significance for its discipline, in the form of a book, a journal article or other medium appropriate to the discipline concerned. The work can be by a single or multiple authors, but must have been published in one of the three calendar years preceding the nomination deadline. Candidates may be of any age, nationality or country of residence, provided that the nominated work is available in English. Nominations can be put forward by any Fellow or Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy. 

Nominations may only be made by Fellows of the British Academy.

Nominating body: Events & Prizes Committee

Nominations for the 2016 prize are closed

Previous Winners

2015  Professor Patricia Clavin for Securing The World Economy: The Reinvention of the League of Nations 1920-1946 (Oxford University Press, 2013)

2015  Professor R F Foster FBA for Vivid Faces: The Revolutionary Generation in Ireland 1890-1923 (Allen Lane, 2014)

2015  Professor Robert Fowler FBA for Early Greek Mythography Volume 2: Commentary (Oxford University Press, 2013)

2014  Professor David Luscombe FBA for The Letter Collection of Peter Abelard and Heloise(Oxford University Press, 2013)

2014  Professor Geoffrey Parker FBA for Global Crisis: War, Climate Change and Catastrophe in the Seventeenth Century (Yale University Press, 2013)

2014  Professor Thomas Piketty for Capital in the 21st Century (Harvard University Press, 2013, English edition 2014)

2013  Professor David Abulafia FBA, University of Cambridge, for The Great Sea: a Human History of the Mediterranean (Penguin Books, 2011)

2013  Dr Noel Malcolm FBA, All Souls College Oxford, for Thomas Hobbes's Leviathan (Oxford University Press, 2012)

2013  Professor Tim Shallice FBA, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, UCL, and Dr Richard Cooper, Birkbeck, University of London, for The Organisation of Mind (Oxford University Press, 2011)

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.