British academy


The Global Financial Crisis – Why Didn’t Anybody Notice?

17 June 2009, 12.30pm
The British Academy, 10 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1

The Queen with Professor Luis Garicano at the LSE in
November 2008 (Photograph: Kirsty Wigglesworth/PA
Archive/Press Association)

On 17 June 2009, a group of leading academics, economics journalists, politicians, past and present civil servants, and other practitioners met at the British Academy for a round-table discussion of the current financial crisis. Professor Charles Goodhart CBE FBA opened the discussion.

The question under discussion in this second British Academy Forum had been framed by Her Majesty The Queen on a visit to the London School of Economics on 5 November 2008, when she had asked: if these things were so large, how come everyone missed them? The Chairman, Professor Peter Hennessy FBA, explained that a purpose of the Forum was to provide the basis of an 'unofficial command paper' that attempted to answer The Queen's question.

List of participants

Professor Tim Besley, FBA, London School of Economics; Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee
Professor Christopher Bliss, FBA, University of Oxford
Professor Vernon Bogdanor, FBA, University of Oxford
Sir Samuel Brittan, Financial Times
Sir Alan Budd
Dr Jenny Corbett, University of Oxford
Professor Andrew Gamble, FBA, University of Cambridge
Sir John Gieve, Harvard Kennedy School
Professor Charles Goodhart, FBA, London School of Economics
Dr David Halpern, Institute for Government
Professor José Harris, FBA, University of Oxford
Mr Rupert Harrison, Economic Adviser to the Shadow Chancellor
Professor Peter Hennessy, FBA, Queen Mary, University of London
Professor Geoffrey Hosking, FBA, University College London
Dr Thomas Huertas, Financial Services Authority
Mr William Keegan, The Observer
Mr Stephen King, HSBC
Professor Michael Lipton, FBA, University of Sussex
Rt Hon John McFall, MP, Commons Treasury Committee
Sir Nicholas Macpherson, HM Treasury
Mr Bill Martin, University of Cambridge
Mr David Miles, Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee
Sir Gus O’Donnell, Secretary of the Cabinet
Mr Jim O’Neill, Goldman Sachs
Sir James Sassoon
Rt Hon Clare Short, MP
Mr Paul Tucker, Bank of England
Dr Sushil Wadhwani, Wadhwani Asset Management LLP
Professor Ken Wallis, FBA, University of Warwick
Sir Douglas Wass
Mr James Watson, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
Mr Martin Weale, National Institute of Economic and Social Research
Professor Shujie Yao, University of Nottingham