British academy



Public Events Programme

Our events are open to all, often free, and offer the chance explore new research that sheds light on a wide range of human and social issues. 

Our accessible talks, panel discussions, debates and other events showcase how the humanities and social sciences underpin the world around us and influence our everyday lives. Our lecture programme has communicated the best scholarship in the humanities and social sciences for over 100 years. And our conferences provide the opportunity for in-depth engagement with leading and emerging scholars.

Events take place both at the British Academy at 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, and also at locations around the UK. Most of our events are free to attend, but many require advanced registration. Full details of event venue and registration are provided on each event page.


September


Thursday 18 September 2014
Central Banks: Powerful, Political and Unaccountable?
Keynes Lecture in Economics, by Professor Willem Buiter FBA, 6pm

Tuesday 23 September 2014
‘Mind-reading’ as a gatekeeper in development: Neurotypical and autistic pathways to learning
Joint British Academy/British Psychological Society Lecture, by Professor Francesca Happé FBA, 6pm

Wednesday 24 September 2014
Immigration and the Making of British Identity
The British Academy Debates, 6pm (venue: REP, Birmingham)

Late September
10 Carlton House Terrace - from Home to Hospital
Exhibition 


October


October
10 Carlton House Terrace - from Home to Hospital
Exhibition   

Wednesday 1 October 2014
From Intimacy to Nearness: Creating Common Identity in Post Apartheid South Africa
Lecture, by Professor Jonathan Jansen, 6pm

Thursday 2 October 2014
The Practical Turn: Pragmatism in Britain in the Long Twentieth Century
Dawes Hicks Symposium on Philosophy, 10.15am

Monday 13 October 2014
What are Prime Ministers for?
Lecture in Politics and Government, by Lord Peter Hennessy of Nympsfield FBA, 6pm

Wednesday 15 October 2014
Thomas Hobbes: Liberal Illiberal
Master-Mind Lecture, by Sir Noel Malcolm FBA, 6pm

Thursday 16 October 2014
Immigration and the Politics of Britishness
The British Academy Debates, 6pm (venue: Museum of Liverpool)

Monday 20 October 2014
Artists in the Academy
Panel Discussion in partnership with the Inside Out Festival 

Tuesday 21 October 2014
Shaping the Air: the Voice and Radio

Joint British Academy/BBC Radio 3 'The Essays' Recording

Thursday 23 October 2014
The City of Tomorrow
Joint British Academy/BBC Radio 4 'Afternoon Drama' Recording

Friday 24 October 2014
‘Curse, bless, me now’: Dylan Thomas and Saunders Lewis
Chatterton Lecture on Poetry, by Professor Tudur Hallam, 6pm

Tuesday 28 October 2014
Tackling the Great Challenges of the 21st Century
Joint British Academy/Royal Society Event, 6.30pm (venue: Royal Society)

Tuesday 28 October 2014
A Presumption Against Imprisonement?
British Academy Policy Event, 6.30pm


November


November
10 Carlton House Terrace - from Home to Hospital
Exhibition   

Thursday 6 November 2014
'Rivers of Blood': Illustrating Violence and Virtue in Russia’s Early Modern Empire
Raleigh Lecture on History, by Professor Valerie Kivelson, 6pm

Tuesday 11 November 2014
Terrible Beauty: Music and Writing of the First World War
Concert, 7.30pm (venue: The Chapel, King's College London)

Wednesday 12 & Thursday 13 November 2014
The First World War: Literature, Culture, Modernity
British Academy Conference, 9.30am-5pm

Wednesday 12 November 2014
The Past Hovering: An evening of war poetry
Poetry Reading, 6pm

Thursday 13 November 2014
Immigration and the UK Economy
The British Academy Debates, 6pm (venue: Bishopsgate Institute)

Monday 17 November 2014
Myths of Migration: The changing population of Britian 
Panel Discussion, 6pm  

Wednesday 19 November 2014
Being Human... From Lucy to Language
Panel Discussion, 6pm

Wednesday 26 November 2014
In Conversation with Noam Chomsky
In Conversation Event, 6pm (venue: The Royal Society)