British academy


On election, all Fellows are assigned to one of 18 broad disciplinary Sections spanning the humanities and social sciences. Fellows may also become members of an additional Section, according to the range of their scholarly expertise.

The Sections are further subdivided into two Groups, for the humanities and social sciences. These Groups were established mainly for electoral purposes, but also to conduct other business falling within their disciplinary coverage.

Humanities Sections

H1 Classical Antiquity (Chair: Professor Chris Carey)
H2 Theology and Religious Studies (Chair: Professor Philip Alexander)
H3 Africa, Asia and the Middle East (Chair: Professor Clive Holes)
H4 Linguistics and Philology (Chair: Professor Aditi Lahiri)
H5 Early Modern Languages and Literatures to 1830 (Chair: Professor Richard McCabe)
H6 Modern Languages, Literatures and other Media from 1830 (Chair: Professor Celia Britton)
H7 Archaeology (Chair: Professor Graeme Barker)
H8 Medieval Studies (Chair: Professor Helen Cooper)
H9 Early Modern History to 1850 (Chair: Professor Lyndal Roper)
H10 Modern History from 1850 (Chair: Professor Robert Gildea)
H11 History of Art and Music (Chair: Professor Craig Clunas)
H12 Philosophy (Chair: Professor Jane Heal)
Cultural, Communications, Media and Performance Studies (CCMPS) Ginger Group (Chair: Professor Ian Christie)

Social Science Sections

S1 Law (Chair: Professor Hugh Collins)
S2 Economics and Economic History (Chair: Professor Jane Humphries)
S3 Anthropology and Geography (Chair: Professor Felix Driver)
S4 Sociology, Demography and Social Statistics (Chair: Professor John Scott)
S5 Political Studies: Political Theory, Government and International Relations (Chair: Professor Richard English)
S6 Psychology (Chair: Professor Simon Baron-Cohen)
Management and Business Studies (MBS) Ginger Group (Chair: Professor Colin Mayer)
Education Ginger Group (Chair: Professor Ann Phoenix)