British Academy announces new elections to Fellowship

On Thursday, 19 July the British Academy, the national Academy for the humanities and social sciences, elected forty-eight new scholars into the Fellowship for their academic achievements. Thirty-eight UK based academics have been elected and a further ten overseas scholars have been elected as Corresponding Fellows.

Robin Jackson, Chief Executive and Secretary of the British Academy, said: "Election to Fellowship is the principal way in which the Academy recognises scholarly excellence. It comes as the culmination of a rigorous selection process in which each of the Academy's eighteen Sections, organised by academic discipline, is involved. This year we are pleased to welcome new Fellows from all of the disciplines represented in the Academy, displaying a variety of cutting-edge specialisms, from mediaeval art to game theory, from Islamic history to philosophy of physics, from ethnomusicology to the economic analysis of law."

An Admissions Ceremony will be held on 25 September 2007. The President of the Academy, Baroness O’Neill, will welcome the new Fellows and invite them to add their names to the Academy’s historic Roll, which includes the signatures of such eminent scholars as Isaiah Berlin, Kenneth Clark, John Maynard Keynes and Mortimer Wheeler.

The Academy also announced the winners of medals and prizes, awarded for outstanding work in various fields of the humanities and social sciences. This year’s winners include Professor Andrew Fleming (Emeritus Professor of Archaeology, University of Wales, Lampeter), who will receive the inaugural award of the John Coles Medal for Landscape Archaeology.

For further details, please contact Michael Reade, External Relations, 020 7969 5263.



19 July 2007

  1. The British Academy held its One Hundred and Fifth Annual General Meeting on 19 July 2007. The President, Baroness O’Neill chaired the meeting.
  2. The following thirty-eight scholars were elected Ordinary Fellows of the British Academy:

Professor Ash Amin (University of Durham) Geography
Professor Mark Armstrong (University College London) Economics
Professor Derek Attridge (University of York) English Literature
Dr Toby Barnard (University of Oxford) Early Modern History
Professor John Barton (University of Oxford) Biblical Studies
Professor Paul Binski (University of Cambridge) History of Medieval Art
Professor Rachel Bowlby (University College London) English Literature
Professor Harvey Brown (University of Oxford) Philosophy of Physics
Professor Andrew Burrows (University of Oxford) Law
Professor Bryony Coles (University of Exeter) Archaeology
Professor Ross Cranston (London School of Economics and Political Science) Law
Professor Robert Foley (University of Cambridge) Human Evolutionary Studies
Professor Mary Fulbrook (University College London) Modern German History
Professor Christopher Fuller (London School of Economics and Political Science) Anthropology
Professor John Gillingham (London School of Economics and Political Science) Medieval History
Professor John Haffenden (University of Sheffield) English Literature
Professor Christopher Hill (University of Cambridge) International Relations
Professor Carole Hillenbrand (University of Edinburgh) Islamic History
Dr Boyd Hilton (University of Cambridge) Modern British History
Professor Michael Hunter (Birkbeck,University of London) Intellectual History
Professor Catriona Kelly (University of Oxford) Russian History
Professor Joni Lovenduski (Birkbeck,University of London) Politics
Professor Richard McCabe (University of Oxford) English Literature
Professor David Martin (London School of Economics and Political Science) Sociology
Professor Henrietta Moore (London School of Economics) Social Anthropology
Professor Colin Morris (University of Southampton) Medieval History
Professor Anthony Ogus (University of Manchester) Law
Professor Carole Pateman (Cardiff University) Political Theory
Mr Nicholas Purcell (University of Oxford) Ancient History
Professor Genevra Richardson (King’s College London) Law
Professor Ian Roberts (University of Cambridge) Linguistics
Professor Kevin Roberts (University of Oxford) Economics
Professor Mike Savage (University of Manchester) Sociology
Professor John Scott (University of Essex) Sociology
Professor Richard Smith (University of Cambridge) Economic Theory and Statistics
Dr Zara Steiner (University of Cambridge) Modern History
Professor Steven Tipper (University of Wales, Bangor) Cognitive Science
Professor H Peyton Young (University of Oxford) Economics

  1. The following ten overseas scholars were elected Corresponding Fellows of the British Academy:

Professor Philip Bohlman, (University of Chicago) Ethnomusicology
Professor Peter Cane (Australian National University) Law
Professor Susan Carey (Harvard University) Psychology
Professor Noël Duval (University of Paris, Sorbonne - Paris IV) Ancient History and Archaeology
Professor Derek Gregory (University of British Columbia at Vancouver) Geography
Professor Tony Judt (New York University) Modern History
Professor David Kaplan (University of California, Los Angeles) Philosophy
Professor Denis Knoepfler (University of Neuchâtel and Collège de France) Ancient History
Professor Joseph Nye (Harvard University) International Relations
Professor Ariel Rubinstein (Tel Aviv University and New York University) Economics

  1. The following Medals and Prizes were announced:
  1. The Academy's Officers for 2007-08 will be:
  1. Established by Royal Charter in 1902, the British Academy is an independent learned society promoting the humanities and social sciences. It is composed of Fellows elected in recognition of their distinction as scholars in the humanities and social sciences. More information about the British Academy may be found at:
  2. The number of Ordinary Fellows elected each year is limited to 35, plus up to three ‘Senior Fellows’. There are currently 870 Ordinary Fellows. Corresponding Fellows, scholars of international distinction, currently number 306. There are also 18 Honorary Fellows.

< back