British academy

Wiley Prize in Economics

The Wiley Prize in Economics, worth £5,000, is awarded annually for achievement in research by an outstanding early career economist. The award is sponsored by publisher Wiley. The Prize was first awarded in 2013.


Eligible nominations can be for research in any field of economics or economic history, provided that the nominee is a UK national or resident, and received their doctorate after 1 January 2010. Nominations may only be made by Heads of Departments of Economics (or equivalent) in UK HE institutions, or by relevant learned societies. Only one nomination per nominating department/society is permitted. 

Nominating body: Section S2.


2015 Dr Johannes Spinnewijn, London School of Economics and Political Science

2014 Dr Vasco Carvalho, University of Cambridge

2013 Professor Philipp Kircher, University of Edinburgh