Skip Content

Programme leadership

The Future of the Corporation is led by Professor Colin Mayer, a Fellow of the British Academy and Professor of Management with leadership experience in the corporate sector. Professor Mayer is supported by a Steering Group of 11 drawn from the Fellowship and a number of external members. The Steering Group seeks advice from business through the Corporate Advisory Group, a larger group of business leaders from a range of corporate sectors. There is also a Research Sub-Committee that decided where and who to award research funding.

Business and management • Jennifer Hawton

Professor Colin Mayer, CBE, FBA – Academic Lead

The Future of the Corporation programme is lead by Professor Colin Mayer, FBA.  Professor Mayer is Peter Moores Professor of Management Studies at the Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford and was elected to the Fellowship of the British Academy in 2013.

Colin was the first Professor at the Saïd Business School in 1994, and the first Director of the Oxford Financial Research Centre between 1998 and 2005.  He has served on the editorial boards of several leading academic journals and assisted in establishing prestigious networks of economics, law and finance academics in Europe at the Centre for Economic Policy Research and the European Corporate Governance Institute.  He was a Harkness Fellow at Harvard University, a Houblon-Norman Fellow at the Bank of England, the first Leo Goldschmidt Visiting Professor of Corporate Governance at the Solvay Business School, Université de Bruxelles, and has had visiting positions at Columbia, MIT and Stanford universities.

Colin was chairman of Oxera Ltd. between 1986 and 2010 and was instrumental in building the company into what is now one of the largest independent economics consultancies in Europe. He has consulted for large corporations and governments, regulators and international agencies around the world. He is an Honorary Fellow of Oriel College, Oxford and of St Anne’s College, Oxford.  He is an Ordinary Member of the UK Competition Appeal Tribunal, a member of the UK Government Natural Capital Committee, and a Fellow of the European Corporate Governance Institute.

Professor Mayer was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2017 New Year Honours for services to business education and the administration of justice in the economic sphere.

Steering Group

The Steering Group for the Future of the Corporation provides advice and guidance on the development and implementation of the project.  It is comprised of Fellows of the British Academy and other members with relevant experience.  The membership is listed below.

Mohamed Amersi (Chair, Amersi Foundation; Trustee, Prince’s Trust International; Members of Global Leadership Council, Said Business School)
Marco Becht (Executive Director, European Corporate Governance Institute)
Bill Blair (Judge in Charge of the Commercial Court)
Victor Blank (Chair, British Academy Development Board)
Alun Evans (CEO, British Academy)
Luke Fletcher (Partner, Bates Wells Braithwaite)
Colin Mayer, FBA (Chair)
Onora O’Neill, FBA
Lucy Parker (Partner, Brunswick Group)
Paula Woodman (Senior Social Enterprise Advisor, British Council)
Mike Wright, FBA

Corporate Advisory Group

Alongside the Steering Group, the Academy has convened a group of senior business leaders. The purpose of this Group is to ensure that the programme remains relevant to and addresses the needs of business.

Mohamed Amersi                     Chairman, The Amersi Foundation; Trustee, Prince's Trust International; and Member of the Global Leadership Council, Saïd Business School,  University of Oxford

Göran Ando                              Chairman, Novo Nordisk

Cyrus Ardalan                          Chair, OakNorth Bank

Mike Barry                                Director of Sustainable Business, M&S

Dominic Barton                        Managing Director, McKinsey

Julian Birkinshaw, FBA           London Business School Professor

Beatrice Bondy                        Senior Advisor, Investor AB

Juliet Davenport                       CEO and Founder, Good Energy

David Davies                            Partner, Bates Wells Braithwaite

Bethan Grillo                           Director, PwC

David Jackson                         Company Secretary, BP

Mark Lewisohn                        Vice Chairman, UBS Group AG

Warner Mandel                        COO, Rothschild Group

Colin Mayer, FBA                     Said Business School, University of Oxford (Chair)

Colin Melvin                             Chair, Social Stock Exchange

Adrian Montague                     Chairman, Aviva

Peter Norris                             Chairman, Virgin Group

Lucy Parker                             Partner, Brunswick Group

James Perry                             Founder and CEO, Cook Foods

Stuart Roden                            Chairman, Lansdowne Partners

Carine Smith Ihenacho            Global Head Ownership Strategies, Norges Bank Investment Management

Mustafa Suleyman                   Co-Founder and Head of Applied AI, Google DeepMind

Daniela Weber-Rey                   Attorney and Member of the Government Commission for the German Corporate Governance Code

Harlan Zimmerman                  Senior Partner, Cevian Capital London


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.


Add a comment to this line