Skip Content

Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize for Global Cultural Understanding

The Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize, worth £25,000, is awarded annually for outstanding contribution to global cultural understanding. It is designed to illuminate the interconnections and divisions of culture and identity in world civilization. The award was founded by the International Relations scholar, Professor Nayef Al-Rodhan and was first awarded in 2013.

Nominations for the 2018 prize have now closed. 

The Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize is awarded annually by the British Academy to the author of the best (in the opinion of the judges) eligible non-fiction book that contributes to Global Cultural Understanding. The Judges are looking for work that is rigorous, evidence-based and that, in some way, illuminates the interconnections and divisions that shape cultural identity worldwide.

      a)      Nominated persons can be of any nationality, based anywhere in the world and working
                in any language provided that the nominated work is available
 in print or electronic
                format and written in English.

      b)      The book must have been published in English between the 1 March 2016 and 28 Feb 2018.

      c)      Translated books are eligible if publication coincides with the dates outlined (see (b) above).

      d)      Self-published books are eligible.

      e)      Edited volumes are not eligible.

       f)      Publishers must submit two copies of the book they wish to nominate to Maria Agius at
                Nayef Al-Rodhan Book Prize, 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, SW1Y 5AH

      g)      We may later call on publishers to submit up to 6 additional copies of a nominated book.

      h)      If an e-book is submitted, we may later call on publishers to submit up to 6 bound versions
               of the nominated book.

       i)      Judges also have the right to call in books that have not been put forward.

       j)      Previously winning any other prize does not affect an author’s eligibility to be entered.

      k)      Previously winning The Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize does not affect an author’s eligibility to
                be entered, provided the entry is for a different non-fiction book.

       l)      If a book is shortlisted, the same book cannot be submitted for consideration the following year.

     m)      Authors must be living at the time of submission.

      n)      It is the discretion of the Prizes Director at the British Academy and the Jury as to whether a book
                is eligible and fits the subject matter. Their decision is final, and no conversation will be entered


Previous Winners

2017  Timothy Garton Ash CMG FRSA, University of Oxford for Free Speech: Ten Principles for a Connected World (Atlantic Books, 2016)

2016  Professor Carole Hillenbrand OBE FBA, St Andrews, and Edinburgh Universities for Islam; A New Historical Introduction (Thames & Hudson Ltd, 2015)

2015  Neil MacGregor Hon FBA, British Museum for A History of the World in 100 Objects (Penguin, 2012) and Germany: Memories of a Nation (Allen Lane, 2014)

2014  Jonathan Jansen, University of the Free State, South Africa for Knowledge in the Blood: confronting race and the apartheid past (Stanford University Press, 2009)  

2013  Karen Armstrong, for her wide ranging, highly accessible books on comparative religion.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.


Add a comment to this line