Skip Content

Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize for Global Cultural Understanding

The Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize, worth £25,000, is awarded annually for outstanding contribution to global cultural understanding. It is designed to illuminate the interconnections and divisions of culture and identity in world civilisation. The award was founded by the international relations scholar Professor Nayef Al-Rodhan in 2013.

The shortlist of the Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize for Global Cultural Understanding 2018 will be announced on Tuesday 11 September. The shortlisted writers will be invited to speak at a public event on Monday 29 October to discuss their work and debate the books that have advanced our cultural understanding of the world. 

This is followed by announcement of the winner at an early evening ceremony at the British Academy on Tuesday 30 October.

Worth £25,000, the Prize is awarded annually for an outstanding contribution to global cultural understanding that illuminates the interconnections and divisions that shape cultural identity worldwide. The Prize was founded and is generously sponsored by the international relations scholar Dr Nayef Al-Rodhan. It was first awarded in 2013.

To be eligible for entry, books must be works of non-fiction published in English in the two years since 1 March 2016. The jury will be looking for books that are rigorous and evidence-based, that demonstrate original research and that can have significantly contributed to public understanding and debate. Authors may be of any nationality, based anywhere in the world and working in any language provided that the nominated work is available in the English language.  

The 2018 jury is chaired by Professor Ash Amin CBE FBA, the Foreign Secretary of the British Academy. He is joined by: historian and political scientist Rana Mitter FBA; social anthropologist Dame Henrietta Moore DBE FBA; writer and broadcaster Professor Patrick Wright FBA and writer Madeleine Bunting.

Submissions for the Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize, 2018, are now closed.

Previous winners

Timothy Garton Ash CMG FRSA, University of Oxford, for Free Speech: Ten Principles for a Connected World (Atlantic Books, 2016)

Professor Carole Hillenbrand OBE FBA, St Andrews and Edinburgh Universities, for Islam; A New Historical Introduction (Thames & Hudson Ltd, 2015)

Neil MacGregor Hon FBA, British Museum, for  A History of the World in 100 Objects (Penguin, 2012) and Germany: Memories of a Nation (Allen Lane, 2014)

Jonathan Jansen
, University of the Free State, South Africa, for Knowledge in the Blood: confronting race and the apartheid past (Stanford University Press, 2009)  

Karen Armstrong, for her wide-ranging, highly accessible books on comparative religion

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.


Add a comment to this line