Skip Content

Contact the British Academy

The British Academy’s address is: 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AH. Tel: 020 7969 5200

The British Academy's address is:

10-11 Carlton House Terrace
London
SW1Y 5AH

Tel: 020 7969 5200 Fax: 020 7969 530

Nearest tube: Charing Cross (Cockspur Street exit), Piccadilly Circus (Lower Regent Street exit).
Buses: Piccadilly Circus, Lower Regent Street, Haymarket, Trafalgar Square.
Wheelchair access: The British Academy has access for most wheelchairs. To find out more please see details of our disabled access arrangements.


British Academy Staff

Please send your email to the appropriate department below.

Alternatively, for general enquiries please call +44 (0)20 7969 5200.

Funding

For more information, including details about the research funding schemes available, please visit the Funding Opportunities page.

You can also go to the British Academy’s grants management system, Flexi-Grant, at https://britishacademy.flexigrant.com/

If your question is not answered there, you may contact the relevant member of the Research Awards or International Team as noted below, but please be aware that the office experiences a high volume of requests, especially at peak times around deadlines. We aim to answer all requests within a reasonable timeframe.

Helen Langan
Research Awards Officer (Mid-Career Fellowships; BA/Leverhulme Senior Research Fellowships; Wolfson Research Professorships)
020 7969 5271
grants@britac.ac.uk

Claire McDonagh
Research Awards Officer (BA/Leverhulme Small Research Grants)
020 7969 5272
grants@britac.ac.uk

Tom Egan
Research Funding Manager (Newton Fund; Newton International Fellowships)
+44 (0) 20 7969 5288
t.egan@britac.ac.uk

Enquiries about Flexi-Grant are dealt with by the same team, but are best directed to: flexigrant@britac.ac.uk

Dr Ken Emond
Head of Research Awards
020 7969 5265
k.emond@britac.ac.uk

Lesley Talbot
Deputy Head of Research Funding
020 7969 5305
l.talbot@britac.ac.uk

International

Contact the International Team to find out more about the Academy's international research funding programmes, relations with academies and partner institutions overseas, international organisations and international policy work:

Philip Lewis
Head of International Research and Policy
+44 (0) 20 7969 5235
p.lewis@britac.ac.uk

Desislava Stoitchkova
Deputy Head of International Research and Policy
+44 (0) 20 7969 5276
d.stoitchkova@britac.ac.uk

Stephanie Appleton
International Research Funding Manager
+44 (0) 20 7969 5277
s.appleton@britac.ac.uk

Jessica Meese
International Research Funding Officer (Cities & Infrastructure Programme; Tackling Modern Slavery, Human Trafficking and Child Labour in Modern Business Programme; BA/DFID Anti-Corruption Evidence Partnership)
+44 (0)20 7969 5350
j.meese@britac.ac.uk

Iain Hannah
International Research Funding Officer (Tackling the UK's International Challenges Programme; Knowledge Frontiers: International Interdisciplinary Research Projects; Sustainable Development Programme)
+44 (0)20 7969 5269
i.hannah@britac.ac.uk

Hayley Fowler
International Research Funding Officer (Early Childhood Development Programme)
+44 (0)20 7969 5222
h.fowler@britac.ac.uk

Christina Moorhouse
International Policy Adviser
+44 (0)20 7969 5267
c.moorhouse@britac.ac.uk

Hugo Clarke
International Policy Adviser
+44 (0)20 7969 5343
h.clarke@britac.ac.uk

Annette Oppong
International Assistant
+44 (0)20 7969 5297
a.oppong@britac.ac.uk

Events

Please browse our events programme before contacting us. Information about registering for an event can be found on the relevant event listing.

For general event enquiries please call the Events Team on 020 7969 5200 or email: events@britac.ac.uk

Contact details for the Events team:

Claire Pike
Assistant Events Producer
020 7969 5246
c.pike@britac.ac.uk

Johanna Empson
Events Producer
020 7969 5316
j.empson@britac.ac.uk 

Marisa Smith
Head of Events
020 7969 5264
m.smith@britac.ac.uk

Matt Woodward
Public Events Producer
020 7969 5234
m.woodward@britac.ac.uk

Policy

Please note that all our reports are available online. You can find out more about our Policy work here.

To find out more contact the Policy Team

Vivienne Hurley
Director of Research Funding and Policy
020 7969 5268
v.hurley@britac.ac.uk

Harriet Barnes
Head of Policy (Higher Education and Skills)
020 7969 5281
h.barnes@britac.ac.uk

Joseph Buckley
Policy Manager (Skills)
020 7969 5308
j.buckley@britac.ac.uk

Maxime Delattre
Policy Adviser (Skills)
020 7969 5318
m.delattre@britac.ac.uk

Chinara Rustamova
Policy Adviser (Higher Education)
020 7969 5233
c.rustamova@britac.ac.uk

Helen Gibson
Policy and Engagement Manager (Public Policy)
0207 969 5287
h.gibson@britac.ac.uk

Jamiesha Majevadia
Policy Adviser (Public Policy)
020 7969 5215
j.majevadia@britac.ac.uk

Martin Rogers
Policy Adviser (Public Policy)
0207 969 5346
m.rogers@britac.ac.uk

Tara Vernhes
Policy Officer (Public Policy)
0207 969 5285
t.vernhes@britac.ac.uk

Press

Please see the Press Office page for recent press releases and contact details for the press team.

Contact details for the Communications Team:

Naomi Joyner
Head of News & Stakeholder Engagement
020 7969 5317
n.joyner@britac.ac.uk

Katie Barron
Media Relations Officer
020 7969 5273
k.barron@britac.ac.uk

Liz Hutchinson
Director of Communications
020 7969 5253
l.hutchinson@britac.ac.uk

Fundraising

Information about making a donation to the Academy is available online. To find out more please contact the development team.

Future of the Corporation Programme
Kate Rosser Frost
Project Manager
020 7969 5263
k.rosserfrost@britac.ac.uk

Further information and resources about the Future of the Corporation Programme are available here

Fellowship

Information about election to the Fellowship is available online. Please note that all candidates must be proposed by the existing Fellowship. To find out more call Marion Paterson, Fellowship Manager, on 020 7969 5259 or email thefellowship@britac.ac.uk

Chief Executive Office

Alun Evans is the Chief Executive of the British Academy. He can be contacted via his PA:

Emily Murphy
PA to the President and Chief Executive and Secretary
020 7969 5255
chiefexec@britac.ac.uk

Read more about Alun Evans.  

Sir David Cannadine is the President of the British Academy. He can be contacted via his assistant:

Read more about Sir David Cannadine.

Maria Agius
Assistant to the President and Chief Executive
020 7969 5279
mariaa@britac.ac.uk

Marion Paterson
Fellowship Manager
020 7969 5259
thefellowship@britac.ac.uk

Human Resources and Corporate Services

Please note that current vacancies are available online. To find out more call Stevie Bennett, HR & Corporate Services Manager on 020 7969 5225 or email: s.bennett@britac.ac.uk

Contact details for Corporate Services Team:

Robert Hopwood
Director
020 7969 5280
r.hopwood@britac.ac.uk 

Stevie Bennett
Human Resources & Corporate Services Manager
020 7969 5225
stevieb@britac.ac.uk

Giuseppe Scannapieco
Human Resources & Corporate Services Assistant
0207 969 5289
g.scannapieco@britac.ac.uk

Sadiq Mughal 
IT Manager
020 7969 5242
s.mughal@britac.ac.uk

Sadiq Mughal 
IT Manager
020 7969 5240
s.mughal@britac.ac.uk

Tichatonga Pfupajena
IT Officer
020 7969 5241
t.pfupajena@britac.ac.uk

Imre Bozso
AV Technician
020 7969 5244
i.bozso@britac.ac.uk

Kane Mundee
IT/AV Apprentice
020 7969 5242
k.mundee@britac.ac.uk

Pablo Ramirez
Facilities Manager
0207 969 5211
p.ramirez@britac.ac.uk

Carlos Salcedo
Facilities Assistant
0207 969 5249
c.salcedo@britac.ac.uk

Claire Vignard
BIRI Accountant
0207 969 5208
c.vignard@britac.ac.uk

Joan Kenny 
Finance Officer
020 7969 5207
j.kenny@britac.ac.uk

Susan West
Finance Assistant
020 7969 5251
s.west@britac.ac.uk

Publications

The British Academy produces a wide range of publications, for academic and more general readerships.

To find out more email: pubs@britac.ac.uk, or contact:

James Rivington
Head of Publications; Editor, British Academy Review
020 7969 5261
j.rivington@britac.ac.uk

Brigid Hamilton-Jones
Publications Officer
020 7969 5262
b.hamilton-jones@britac.ac.uk

Library and Archive

Contact Karen Syrett, Librarian/Archivist, on 020 7969 5314 or email: k.syrett@britac.ac.uk

Venue hire and room booking

Our stunning building is the ideal location for a Wedding Reception or conference, conveniently located in the heart of Central London. To contact us about hiring our facilities speak to a team member at 10-11 Carlton House Terrace: http://10-11cht.com/contact/

Prizes and Medals

Information about our prizes and medals are available online. To find out more email: prizes@britac.ac.uk

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Add a comment to this line