Skip Content

Contact the British Academy

The British Academy’s address is: 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AH. Tel: 020 7969 5200

The British Academy's address is:

10-11 Carlton House Terrace
London
SW1Y 5AH

Tel: 020 7969 5200 Fax: 020 7969 530

Nearest tube: Charing Cross (Cockspur Street exit), Piccadilly Circus (Lower Regent Street exit).
Buses: Piccadilly Circus, Lower Regent Street, Haymarket, Trafalgar Square.
Wheelchair access: The British Academy has access for most wheelchairs. To find out more please see details of our disabled access arrangements.


British Academy Staff

Please send your email to the appropriate department below.

Alternatively, for general enquiries please call +44 (0)20 7969 5200.

Funding

For more information, including details about the research funding schemes available, please visit the Funding Opportunities page.

You can also go to the British Academy’s e-GAP system at http://egap.britac.ac.uk

If your question is not answered there, you may contact the relevant member of the Research Awards Team as noted below, but please be aware that the office experiences a high volume of requests, especially at peak times around deadlines. We aim to answer all requests within a reasonable timeframe. Please contact:

Helen Langan
Research Awards Officer (Mid-Career Fellowships; BA/Leverhulme Senior Research Fellowships, Wolfson Research Professorships)
020 7969 5217
grants@britac.ac.uk

Claire McDonagh
Research Awards Officer (BA/Leverhulme Small Research Grants)
020 7969 5217
grants@britac.ac.uk

Phoebe Gallagher
Research Awards Officer (BA Rising Star Engagement Awards)
020 7969 5305
grants@britac.ac.uk

Enquiries about e-GAP are dealt with by the same team, but are best directed to: e-gap@britac.ac.uk

Dr Ken Emond
Head of Research Awards
020 7969 5265
k.emond@britac.ac.uk

Events

Please browse our events programme before contacting us. Information about registering for an event can be found on the relevant event listing.

For general event enquiries please call the Events Team on 020 7969 5200 or email: events@britac.ac.uk

Contact details for the Events team:

Matt Woodward
Public Events Producer
020 7969 5234
m.woodward@britac.ac.uk

Claire Pike
Assistant Events Producer
020 7969 5246
c.pike@britac.ac.uk

Penny Collins
Lectures and Conferences Producer
020 7969 5238
p.collins@britac.ac.uk

Clementine Power
Event and Stakeholder Coordinator
020 7969 5227
c.power@britac.ac.uk

Marisa Smith
Public Events Manager
020 7969 5264
m.smith@britac.ac.uk

James Rivington
Head of Academic Publications and Events
020 7969 5261
j.rivington@britac.ac.uk

Policy

Please note that all our reports are available online. You can find out more about our Policy work here.

To find out more contact the Policy Team

Vivienne Hurley
Director of Research Funding and Policy
020 7969 5268
v.hurley@britac.ac.uk

Harriet Barnes
Head of Policy (Higher Education and Skills)
020 7969 5281
h.barnes@britac.ac.uk

Joseph Buckley
Policy Manager (Skills)
020 7969 5308
j.buckley@britac.ac.uk

Jonathan Matthews
Policy Manager (Higher Education).
020 7969 5214
j.matthews@britac.ac.uk

Maxime Delattre
Policy Adviser (Skills)
020 7969 5318
m.delattre@britac.ac.uk

Chinara Rustamova
Policy Adviser (Higher Education)
020 7969 5233
c.rustamova@britac.ac.uk

Lisa Davis
Head of Policy (Public Policy)
0207 969 5307
l.davis@britac.ac.uk

Helen Gibson
Policy and Engagement Manager (Public Policy)
0207 969 5287
h.gibson@britac.ac.uk

Jamiesha Majevadia
Policy Adviser (Public Policy)
020 7969 5215
j.majevadia@britac.ac.uk

Martin Rogers
Policy Adviser (Public Policy)
0207 969 5346
m.rogers@britac.ac.uk

Tara Vernhes
Policy Officer (Public Policy)
0207 969 5285
t.vernhes@britac.ac.uk

Press

Please see the Press Office page for recent press releases and contact details for the press team.

Contact details for the Communications Team:

Kate Rosser Frost
Head of Press and Communications
020 7969 5263
k.rosserfrost@britac.ac.uk

Gareth Greene
Head of News
020 7969 5317
g.greene@britac.ac.uk

Katie Barron
Assistant Press and Communications Officer
020 7969 5273
k.barron@britac.ac.uk

Stuart Moses
Web & Multimedia Editor
020 7969 5266
s.moses@britac.ac.uk

Liz Hutchinson
Director of Communications
020 7969 5253
l.hutchinson@britac.ac.uk

Fundraising

Information about making a donation to the Academy is available online. To find out more please contact the development team.

Fellowship

Information about election to the Fellowship is available online. Please note that all candidates must be proposed by the existing Fellowship. To find out more call Marion Paterson, Fellowship Officer, on 020 7969 5259 or email thefellowship@britac.ac.uk

International

Contact the International team to find out more about international grant schemes, Area Panels, relations with partner institutions abroad, international organisations, international policy.

James Kearney
Head of International
+44 (0) 20 7969 5267
j.kearney@britac.ac.uk 

Desislava Stoitchkova
Senior International Policy Adviser
+44 (0) 20 7969 5276
d.stoitchkova@britac.ac.uk

Philip Lewis
Senior International Policy Adviser
+44 (0) 20 7969 5235
p.lewis@britac.ac.uk

For general international policy enquiries:
internationalpolicy@britac.ac.uk 

Stephanie Appleton
International Grants Officer
+44 (0) 20 7969 5277
s.appleton@britac.ac.uk

Tom Egan
International Research Funding Manager
+44 (0) 20 7969 5288
t.egan@britac.ac.uk

Joel Santana-Mondo
International Research Funding Officer
+44 (0) 20 7969 5269
j.santana-mondo@britac.ac.uk

For Newton Fund enquiries:
newtonfund@britac.ac.uk 
+44 (0) 20 7969 5220

For Newton International Fellowship funding enquiries: 
overseas@britac.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7969 5220

For Global Challenges Research Fund enquiries:
gcrf@britac.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7969 5220

For Tackling the UK's International Challenges funding enquiries:
internationalchallenges@britac.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7969 5220

For International Partnership and Mobility Scheme funding enquiries:
partnerships@britac.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7969 5220

Chief Executive Office

Alun Evans is the Chief Executive of the British Academy. He can be contacted via his PA:

Emily Murphy
PA to the President and Chief Executive and Secretary
020 7969 5255
chiefexec@britac.ac.uk

Read more about Alun Evans here.  

Marion Paterson
Fellowship Officer
020 7969 5259
thefellowship@britac.ac.uk

Human Resources and Corporate Services

Please note that current vacancies are available online. To find out more call Stevie Bennett, HR & Corporate Services Officer on 020 7969 5225 or email: s.bennett@britac.ac.uk

Contact details for Corporate Services Team:

Robert Hopwood
Director
020 7969 5280
r.hopwood@britac.ac.uk 

Stevie Bennett
Human Resources & Corporate Services Officer
020 7969 5225
stevieb@britac.ac.uk

Giuseppe Scannapieco
HR Intern
0207 969 5289
g.scannapieco@britac.ac.uk

Sadiq Mughal 
IT Manager
020 7969 5242
s.mughal@britac.ac.uk

Graham Cranfield
BIRI Finance Manager
0207 969 5252
g.cranfield@britac.ac.uk

Claire Vignard
BIRI Accountant
0207 969 5208
c.vignard@britac.ac.uk

Emanuela Marku
Finance Manager
020 7969 5250
e.marku@britac.ac.uk

Joan Kenny 
Finance Officer
020 7969 5207
j.kenny@britac.ac.uk

Michael Martin
Head of Finance

0207 969 5236
m.martin@britac.ac.uk

Clare Arouche
Business Development and Hospitality Manager
020 7969 5239 
clarea@10-11cht.co.uk

Publications

The British Academy produces a wide range of publications, for academic and more general readerships.

To find out more email: pubs@britac.ac.uk, or contact:

James Rivington
Head of Academic Publications and Events; Editor, British Academy Review
020 7969 5261
j.rivington@britac.ac.uk

Brigid Hamilton-Jones
Publications Officer
020 7969 5262
b.hamilton-jones@britac.ac.uk

Library and Archive

Contact Karen Syrett, Librarian/Archivist, on 020 7969 5314 or email: k.syrett@britac.ac.uk

Venue hire and room booking

Our stunning building is the ideal location for a Wedding Reception or conference, conveniently located in the heart of Central London. To contact us about hiring our facilities speak to a team member at 10-11 Carlton House Terrace: http://10-11cht.com/contact/

Prizes and Medals

Information about our prizes and medals are available online. To find out more email: prizes@britac.ac.uk

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close